Today to commemorate the Holocaust victims, I would suggest a few books that had a great influence on me and that I think you could read not to forget:

  • Survival in Auschwitz (If this is a man)Primo Levi

Levi’s memoir about his ten months in the German death camp Auschwitz;

  • Death Dealer: The Memoirs of the SS Kommandant at AuschwitzRudolph Hoss

The autobiography written while waiting for his execution by the SS Rudolf Hoss death camp’s Kommandant  in Auschwitz;

The experience of  a German single Town showing how a democracy could turn into a cruel dictatorship.

Oggi in occasione della Giornata della Memoria in ricordo delle vittime dell’Olocausto, vorrei suggerire la lettura di alcuni libri che hanno avuto su di me una grande influenza e che penso possiate leggere per non dimenticare:

La testimonianza diretta di Primo Levi del suo internamento ad Auschwitz;

Autobiografia scritta in carcere attendendo l’esecuzione del comandante del campo di concentramento di Auschwitz;

L’esperienza di una singola cittadina tedesca che mostra come si sia potuti passare dalla democrazia ad una delle più feroci tirannie.

4 responses »

  1. mondeban says:

    Grazie. Avevo sentito parlare del terzo libro che consigli, penso che lo leggerò.

  2. Keri says:

    Thanks for posting those. I’ll be sure to look them up.

  3. hasin says:

    Thank you for your post.it lights up the soul.

  4. lauren says:

    If This Is a Man is one of my favourite books, I think it’s a book that every person should read and it has certainly stayed with me. It really reminds us how fortunate we are and the incredible resilience of some human beings in the face of extreme cruelty – Primo Levi was an incredible man. I went through a phase of reading holocaust books but I haven’t read the other two books on your list so when I feel in the right headspace to go back to this topic, I’ll definitely check them out.

Leave a Reply

